About My Designations : Insight Wealth | Little Rock, AR

About My Designations

Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC®)

The ChFC® designation has been a mark of excellence for almost thirty years and currently requires nine college-level courses, the most of any financial planning credential. Average study time to earn the ChFC® exceeds 450 hours. Required courses cover extensive education and application training in financial planning, income taxation, investments, and estate and retirement planning. ChFC® designees must meet experience requirements and adhere to continuing education and ethical standards.

Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU®)

Since 1927, the CLU® has been the respected risk management credential for advisors. Designees have completed eight or more college-level courses representing an average study time of 400 hours. Topics for required courses include insurance and financial planning, life insurance law, estate planning, and planning for business owners and professionals. Elective courses include such advanced topics as income taxes, group benefits, retirement planning, and health insurance. CLU® designees must meet experience and continuing education requirements and must adhere to a high ethical standard.


The AEP® designation is a graduate-level specialization in estate planning, obtained in addition to already recognized professional credentials within the various disciplines of estate planning who support the team concept of estate planning. It is awarded to estate planning professionals who meet stringent requirements of experience, knowledge, education, professional reputation, and character.

Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy (CAP®)

The advisor earning the CAP® designation has taken three graduate school courses in philanthropy including planning for impact in the context of family wealth, charitable strategies, and gift planning in a nonprofit context. The courses are offered through the Irwin Graduate School of The American College, a non-profit educator founded in 1927 and the highest level of academic accreditation. CAP® advisors must meet experience, ethics, and continuing education requirements to use the credential.